August baking!

Well, it certainly has been a busy baking month in August!  Not only did I do that Wedding Cake for my friends Laura and Adam, I also made them fudge for favours!  Fudge is without a doubt one of the greatest joys in life and something I really enjoy making – it is so quick and easy, extremely versatile and I believe Nigella would refer to it as ‘tooth achingly sweet’, perfect with a cuppa or coffee after dinner, a quick snack after lunch or for special occasions like parties, weddings, hen weekends, baby showers etc…

I have been developing my Rocky Road recipe and think I may now have finally cracked it, having taken it both to Laura’s Hen weekend in May and last week to an all day BBQ with very dear friends where it finally triumphed – PHEW!  I also brought brownies and something described by Nigella Lawson in her How to be a Domestic Goddess book as Key Lime Pie, however mine always comes out much more like a cheeseless baked cheesecake.  It is utterly delicious and sublime as indeed are all of Nigella’s puddings and cakes that I have tried.  If I had one shot at making a dessert from scratch I would reach straight for her, I can (hand on heart) say that she has never ever failed me.  And this Lime Cheesecake was one such recipe I had made for the first time about a month before to take to a lazy Sunday Roast with the same fabulous friends.

I would give you a link to this recipe, but I can only find an intriguing chocolate (key) lime pie, which sounds amazing but I have yet to give it a whirl.  The recipe I used was straight from my could-not-live-without Domestic Goddess book as follows:

Nigella Lawson’s (Key) Lime Pie aka baked cheesecake (without cheese)

Ingredients:

For the Base:

250g  Digestive Biscuits

50g Unsalted butter or Stork

For the Filling:

5 Large egg yolks

397g Can of Sweetened Condensed Milk

3 Limes, zest only

150ml Lime juice (5 limes)

3 Large egg whites

Method:

1)   Pre Heat oven to 160 degrees (fan assisted oven, would be 180 degrees if conventional) centigrade and line and grease a 23cm springform tin

2) Put the biscuits in a sandwich bag and bash with a rolling pin until broken up into crumbs (or whiz in a food processor)

3) Melt butter in the microwave, 30 seconds at full power should do it

4) Combine and line the tin with mixture.  Nigella suggests you line the sides and bottom, but I prefer just the bottom.  Chill in the fridge until the filling is ready to go in.

5) Using handheld or free standing whisk; beat egg yolks until they are thick.  Add the condensed milk, grated zest and lime juice and combine.

6) Take 3 egg whites* and whisk into soft peaks, then gently fold (with a metal spoon) into the yolk mixture.

7) Pour filling on top of the chilled base and bake for 30-35 minutes, until slightly browned onto with only a slight wobble.

Expect this to sink slightly and when completely cooled dust with sieved icing sugar.  It is lovely!

*I make 6 meringues with the other 2 egg whites by pre heating a conventional oven to 120 degrees, adding 115g caster sugar when whites are at soft peaks until they go glossy and become firm peaks (that you can hold over your head without being covered in the mixture).  Then line a baking sheet and make either one big meringue (make sure to make lots of peaks to crisp up) or 6 mini meringues for puddings.

Bake @ 100 degrees for 2 hours.

 

One thought on “August baking!

  1. Loving the blog, must work out how to follow! My baking skills are good, technology not so good! I have a fab key lime pie recipe if you want to try it, I also have a non baked lime cheesecake recipe which is amazeballs! PS thanks for a fab night tonight and congrats on eating that chilli!!

Leave a Reply

