Leek risotto with grilled salmon

Following my super pre-Christmas Baking shop, I found a glut of leeks I had failed to use up and was faced with two choices; potato and leek soup (my favourite) or find something more inspirational to do with leeks.  Inspired both by the simplicity of the fabulous parsley risotto (I had at No.9 Church Street, Stratford) and the Weekend Woman’s Hour interview with Nigel Slater I had listened earlier this evening about how under-rated and delicate leeks were, I decided a nice slow cooked leek risotto was the answer.

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 Knob of butter

3 Leeks

50g Risotto rice

Chicken stock (from a cube)

2 Tbsp White wine

Salt & Pepper

Method

1) Add butter and leeks to frying pan over a medium heat (I used 4 on my electric hob)

2) When they start to cook, stir and add salt (to bring out the water in the leeks)

3) You need to keep an eye on the leeks and when they look a bit drier add risotto rice, with half the stock and half the wine

4) Simmer on a low-medium heat until the liquid is absorbed and add the remaining stock and wine

5) When the rice is puffed up and the leeks are soft and rich, remove from heat

6) Serve either on a bed of spinach with a piece of grilled salmon as I did or you could have ham, cooked bacon cubes or a chicken breast

This was my first try at a leek risotto and I loved it.  A very versatile recipe which would go with almost anything!  I’ll definitely be making this again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

