Russian Fudge recipe

Recently I have been asked to post a fudge recipe as I am utterly obsessed with making and eating fudge, and developing wonderful fudge flavours for gifts.  This being a key time of year for recipe development.

I thought it made sense to post my very first fudge recipe as this was my very first experience of homemade fudge and it all started because a colleague of mine at work gave me a wonderful homemade gift for Christmas of fudge and chocolate truffles.  I quickly became obsessed with learning how to make fudge and wasted no time in getting the recipe and trying it out!  It took me four attempts to get it right though as I was an absolute confectionary novice but I have never looked back and now enjoy making a variety of fudge flavours. This still remains my first love.  The great thing about this recipe is that you can vary the texture of it, depending on how slowly or quickly you melt the sugar (higher heat for more grainy, crumbly fudge, low-heat for smoother fudge).

Ingredients

787g Granulated sugar

125g Butter

200g Condensed milk

118ml Milk

3 Tbsp Golden syrup

1/2 Tbsp Salt

2 Tsp Vanilla extract

Method:

1) Grease and line a square tin (20 or 23 cm)

2) Put all ingredients in a heavy bottomed saucepan, except the vanilla extract

3) Put the pan on a very low heat and stir continuously with a balloon whisk until the sugar has melted.  Then put your sugar thermometer in the pan

4) Keep over a very low heat, stirring continuously for c. 30 minutes until the mixture reaches 115 degrees (soft ball)

5) Turn off the heat, remove the sugar thermometer.  Add the vanilla extract and whisk with an electric hand-held whisk for 5-8 minutes until the mixture has lost its glossy shine

6) Remove the hand-held whisk and put in greased tin

7) Cool overnight and serve

Good luck!  Let me know how you get on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

