Chris’s Carrot (& Coconut) Birthday Cake

20121011-132907.jpg Chris was thirty last Thursday and I wanted to make him a really fabulous birthday cake! The problem was that he (like me) doesn’t really like icing, so doing him a sponge cake and icing it to look like the Charlton Athletic
logo wasn’t gonna cut it (though it would have been super-dooper cool!)

I went through numerous recipes trying to find something suitable and
finally came across this corker of a recipe! Light, sweet and relatively
healthy (for cake)… I decided to make carrot cake but with a twist, this
one had a hint of coconut! That did it for me, as an enormous coconut fan
I thought, that might be awesome! The result was lovely! I made it even sweeter by using the gorgeous heart shaped cake pan my friend (Lisey) gave me for my birthday and finally I topped the cake with a small amount of slightly sharp cream cheese and marmalade (hand-made my Chris’s mum) icing! Lush!

It was a recipe from BBC Food (not my usual favourite – BBC Good Food) by
Jo Pratt.

Moist carrot cake with orange cream frosting

Ingredients:
150ml Sunflower oil
100g Brown sugar
2 Eggs
75g Golden syrup
175g Self raising flour
1tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2tsp All Spice
1/2tsp Ground Ginger
1tsp Bicarbonate of soda
200g Carrot, finely grated
75g Sultanas
25g Desiccated coconut

Method
1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees.

2. Grease and line your chosen 20cm tin – I went for a heart shaped on this occasion!

3. I used the usual rule of thumb; mixing the wet and dry ingredients separately and then combining at the end, so in a large bowl or free-standing electric mixer, whisk the oil, sugar, eggs and golden syrup until combined.

4. Add remaining ingredients and fold in.

5. Bake for around 45 minutes, checking every 5 minutes after 40 minutes (this will depend on how hot your oven it)

6. Place cake on cooling rack and leave until cold (otherwise it will melt the icing) – I left mine over night!

Orange cream frosting

Ingredients:
2 tsp fine-cut orange marmalade
150g/5oz cream cheese
20g Dessicated coconut (because I had no coconut cream)
40g/1½oz icing sugar
Sprinkling of ground cinnamon, to finish

Method
Combine all ingredients with hand whisk and chill in the fridge until ready
to spread over the top and serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

