Creamy lemon-coriander* Chicken curry

20121020-224410.jpg
My new mantra is “cook more, eat less” – the theory being that I should turn away from takeaways and lazy options (especially mid-week when the Chinese really calls me) and cook more fabulous food, meaning that I can still have the fantastic flavours and quick food fix that I need but much more healthily! AND the best thing about this new approach has been that I now have LUNCH every day which completely ROCKS as I’ve been wasting my calories on sandwiches from Pret, which whilst scrummy are not proportional in terms of calorie in-take and fullness for complete satisfaction.

In my efforts to cook fabulously filling and healthy alternatives to the takeaway I have turned to my (many) cookbooks and found that one is
particularly good at big portions (ideal to split between 4 for 2xdinners and 2xlunches) and healthy alternatives to all my favourites – in fact they have invented meals which are becoming my new favourites!! One such is the FANTASTICALLY delicious Creamy lemon-coriander* Chicken curry! The cook book I speak of is: Cook Yourself Thin Book 2 (I have already established sure fire favourites from Book 1 – like the Mexican Turkey Burgers!! Nom nom nom!), this series seems to have received relatively little fanfare in the media and public eye in general, however I found this (particularly the first series with Gizzi Erskine, Harry Eastwood, Sal Henley and Sophie Michell) very interesting, exciting and inspiring! I love Gizzi but loved the rest of the ladies too, so rather disappointed
that Channel 4 dropped the original format for this show.

Without further ado, check out this fantastically tasty and filling recipe
and be sure to serve it with some yummy boiled rice, either basmalti or
brown to your taste 🙂

Ingredients
3 Cloves of Garlic
1-2 Large onions (depending on preference)
1 Tbsp Olive oil
1 Tsp Cumin seeds or ground
3 Cardamom pods
1 Tsp Turmeric, ground
1 Tsp Chilli powder, whatever heat you like mild – hot
1 Red pepper, roughly chopped
1 Tsp Chicken or vegetable stock
25g Coriander, fresh
1 lemon, juiced and zested
525-650g Chicken breasts, cubed (I only had one pack of 525g so I just used
this)
150g Low-fat natural yoghurt (I used the Tesco Fat-free yoghurt)
Salt and pepper

Method
1. Fry onions and garlic in oil until softened. Add a little water if anything starts to stick!
2. Add spices and pepper, cook out for c. 5 minutes
3. Add the cubed chicken and brown on each side
4. When browned, add chicken/veg stock and lemon juice and zest, cover with lid for c.20-25 minutes until chicken is tender
5. When cooked through and liquid adequately reduced, take off the heat and stir in the yoghurt and fresh coriander*
6. Serve and enjoy!

*leave out the Coriander if you hate it, like Rebecca does!!

4 thoughts on “Creamy lemon-coriander* Chicken curry

  1. the ginger certainly gave it an extra deep warmth. this curry is a bit hotter than the recipe would suggest but it’s delicious! cheers Jo

Leave a Reply

