Delicious onion tartlets

20130309-190022.jpg

Last Sunday I had my nan & vegetarian aunt over for Sunday lunch; it’s always a challenge to find something yummy that works for both. Chicken was a no brainer for my nan & I, but for my aunt I thought I’d try out an individual onion tart which I’d always fancied trying!  This was simply shortcrust pastry with an onion, cream & egg filling baked in the oven. Very easy indeed.

I used Nigella‘s shortcrust pastry from her How to be a Domestic Goddess, though can’t have made it right because it was a little wet and not as perfect as her pastry I make for mince pies. However, it was fine after some chilled fridge time.

Basic Shortcrust Pastry 

These ingredients make enough for just over four onion tartlets:

Ingredients 
125g Strong or plain flour
125g Butter, cold cut into slices
Squeeze of lime juice

Method
I left out the water in the original recipe as the mixture was already too wet, I added more flour (3 Tbsp) and rested in fridge for 30 minutes or so.

1) Preheat oven to 170 fan or 190 conventional oven

2) Combine ingredients in food processor, by pulsing

3) Take out and put mixture into clingfilm & pop in the fridge for 30-45 minutes

4) Place a sheet of clingfilm on the work top, add a quarter of the pastry & put another sheet of clingfilm on the top. Roll evenly.

5) Lift up and press into tartlet tins.

6) Cut out a square of parchment and place in middle or tartlets, put some baking beans (or I use cannelloni) on top and bake in the oven for 15 minutes

I found a fantastic vegetarian onion tart recipe on my usual go-to foodie recipe site BBC Good Food; http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2957/ultimate-onion-tart, except I made mine without the cheese.

For the filling:

Ingredients
1 egg
300ml Double cream
350g Onions, sliced
Knob of butter

Method

1) Fry the onions in the butter on a medium heat for one minute the add a little more butter and put a lid on top and sweat down stirring occasionally for c.20-25 minutes

2) Combine egg & cream

3) Add onions

4) When you remove tartlet pastry cases from oven, spoon in the filling and return to the oven for 20-24 minutes

5) Take out and enjoy!

Or allow to cool & have with a gorgeous salad.

Leave a Reply

