The Gun, Docklands

Ever since I started working in Docklands, I have heard good things about The Gun, however it has taken me a while to get there myself. I was delighted to discover that it is not only a gorgeous historical pub which, once upon a time provided the meeting place for Nelson and Lady Emma Hamilton‘s not so ‘secret’ assignations, but is also a fantastically welcoming place for a fabulous dinner or after work drink.

the gun

It is about a ten minute walk from Canary Wharf, but well worth the effort when you get there. Upon first glance it looks like a poshed-up version of your local old man’s pub, but it is far more than that. The downstairs is divided into two key areas; dining and drinking. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen table cloths, wooden furniture and friendly accommodating staff; who make your meal enjoyable in the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Through the back there are more wooden tables and chairs, though further still (and to the left) you strike gold with a gentlemen’s style smoking room with leather wing backed arm chairs, leather sofas and a roaring log fire; where you can enjoy a refreshing after dinner beverage. It is a dream come true on a cold and chilly evening!

The upstairs offers private event/dining facilities in the River Room.

The menu is a best of british affair, boasting; Scottish Salmon, Cornish John Dory and Yorkshire Rabbit amongst other options. I am a huge fish and seafood fan, so take the opportunity whenever I can to try something new or that I wouldn’t cook at home, so I went for:

Clams with samphireStarter – Steamed clams, samphire, Jersey Royals and beer battered seaweed

IMG_3339Main – Pan fried fillet of Cornish John Dory, roast Old Spot pork belly, pickled cabbage, liquorice jus

Side – Hand cut chips

Then being one of the worlds biggest chocolate fans, it was no surprise that I went for this pudding:

IMG_3341Valrhona chocolate parfait, passion fruit, Oreo crumb

The food was of very good quality, fairly rich and extremely satisfying. I’m sure there is an excellent reason why pork was served with the John Dory, though I have to say I’m not sure what it was, nor did I think it was necessary as my plate was already full with two fillets of John Dory. My friend’s chose more meaty options which also looked wonderful, but be warned though the steak is absolutely enormous (which they much appreciated, I wouldn’t have stood a chance of getting through that)!!

We rounded off a rather decadent meal with a refreshing gin by the open fire before heading out into the wind and rain! A wonderful evening at a wonderful restaurant, fabulous food and fabulous company – do go and have a fabulous time! 😀

Leave a Reply

