Banana mini muffins with lemon drizzle icing

20130802-114003.jpg

Now, in my pursuit to improve my health and fitness I need to find some really GOOD yet healthy CAKE recipes… hahaha – I hear you laughing yourselves silly with this idea and I know, I know… Cake is not something you usually eat when trying to be healthy, but for me eating well and living healthily long term must have room in it for cake, I cannot live my life without baking and eating cake, frankly what would be the point?! 😛

So I will be sampling over the next few weeks a number of ‘healthy’ cake recipes to see how they compare to the deliciously full fat & wheat alternatives… I am not convinced that it is possible to make a really fabulous cake which isn’t full of fat, sugar and flour, but I am willing to give it a shot and then at least I know I’ll have to make sure I go without dinner in order to have a huge slice of chocolate cake! (Only kidding, I do NOT skip meals!!!!  It just means stepping up the exercise, of course.. )

So drum roll please… first out of the blocks is Weight Watchers recipe Banana muffins with lemon icing

Ingredients

For cakes:

3 Tbsp Vegetable or Sunflower oil

50g Light Brown Sugar

2 Medium Bananas, peeled and mashed

1/2 Lemon, zested

2 Medium Eggs

3 Tbsp Skimmed Milk

150g Self Raising Flour

1/2 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

For icing:

50g Icing Sugar, sifted

2 Tsp Lemon Juice

Method

1) Preheat the oven to 160 degrees (fan assisted) or 180 degrees conventional

2) Put cupcake cakes into a muffin tin to allow for the mixture to climb without flopping over the top

3) In a large bowl combine all the wet ingredients with the sugar and mix

4) Sift the flour and cinnamon, then stir into the wet ingredients mix

5) Spoon into cupcake case and bake for c. 15 minutes (depending on how hot your oven is)

6) When spongy to the touch remove from the oven and cool

7) For the icing, sieve the icing sugar and mix together with the lemon juice (carefully so as not to spill any sugar), when it has reached a thick but pourable consistency glaze the muffins and leave to set

In my opinion (and that of several of my colleagues) this icing needs improvement!  It set fine when I made it last night but by this morning it was runny again.. I’m not sure if I need to ice right before serving or just make it thicker?  This challenge is to be continued… 

The sponge is lovely but for me (if it were non-weight watchers) I want them to be about 3 times bigger than they are… hey ho.  The search for the perfect ‘healthy’ cake continues.

Next I will try the Cook Yourself Thin Chocolate Orange Truffle Cake… mmmmmm 🙂

Leave a Reply

