Christmas lunch at One Canada Square

20140101-231359.jpg

Corporate entertaining at Christmas time is a never ending nightmare; juggling budgets, dietary requirements and colleagues expectations is never easy. This year however when I organised the Christmas lunch, I was in luck, One Canada Square had opened. Perched inside a tower block of the same name, this restaurant and bar offers convenient and glamorous surroundings. Art Deco inspired design delighted the senses just as much as the food did! The menu was modern British/European…

For starters I enjoyed scallops and chicken wings (small pieces of) with carrots. It was amazing, each aspect cooked to perfection and rather usually for large lunches, it was served hot!

20140101-231420.jpg

For main, instead of the tiresome turkey One Canada Square offers Pheasant, however not inspired by game I plumped for the roasted loin of cod with lobster risotto. Fabulous flavours and colours.

20140101-231439.jpg

For pudding I had a chocolate slice, which was a dense slab of chocolate on a biscuit base almost like a torte but much firmer, too much so for me I’m afraid and very rich. I managed about half of this. Interestingly served with a slice of popcorn held together with melted toffee.

20140101-231455.jpg

Petite fours were these delightfully sweet (in every sense) ginger bread men, fruit pastille and liquor filled chocolate truffles. Perfect after dinner fare with a cuppa or espresso.

20140101-231509.jpg

I stayed on after lunch to enjoy a cocktail (self funded naturally) in the bars salubrious surroundings. The first was a hot and spicy drink almost like mulled wine which looked impressive but not really my thing.

20140101-231533.jpg

My second choice of a raspberry mojito was much more my style and lovely.

20140101-231547.jpg

20140101-231600.jpg

I would highly recommend One Canada Square for lunches, dinners or drinks. Lovely venue, lovely food.

One thought on “Christmas lunch at One Canada Square

Leave a Reply

