Healthy King Prawn Fried Rice

King prawn fried rice So I am trying to eat better in 2016, so I’m reinventing some of my favourite recipes as healthily as I can.  Last night I wanted something that felt like my regular Friday night takeaway but better on the waistline and I came across this recipe for Stir fried prawns with pepper and spinach on BBC Good Food and thought, ooh I can do something with that.

Friday nights are takeaway nights – most usually Chinese takeaway.  My absolute favourite take away treat is King Prawn fried rice, so I decided to add rice and egg to the prawns, pepper and spinach.

Serves One, Calories 392

Ingredients

150g King Prawns, raw

1/3 Red pepper, sliced

75g Spinach, raw

2 Clove garlic, crushed

1 Tsp Sesame oil

1 Tsp Soy sauce

2 Tsp Fish sauce

60g Brown rice

1 Egg, beaten, fried and cut into pieces

 

Method

  1. Boil rice until tender then rinse under cold water
  2. Heat a non-stick (omelette) pan, beat an egg and add to the pan on a medium heat
  3. Leave for a few minutes, when ready turn over with a silicone spatula
  4. Take out of the pan and leave to cool.  When cooled cut into small pieces and set to one side.
  5. Heat sesame oil on a medium heat, briefly fry the garlic and pepper
  6. Stir frequently, add the prawns
  7. Add the soy and fish sauce and stir
  8. Add the rice and spinach, stir into the hot pan until spinach wilted
  9. Add egg
  10. Serve
One thought on “Healthy King Prawn Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

