Davina’s sugar free Pancakes

dsc_0140

I am a HUGE Davina McCall fan and have bought her sugar free cookbook, whilst I am not loving the idea of replacing sugar with just as calorific alternatives like honey, I am keen to try filling myself up with full fat creme fraiche as in this recipe, simply because it works.

I do occasionally manage to drag my butt out for a 5k run on a Sunday morning and on one such morning after my post run bath I thought I’d have a go at these beauties.  They were supposed to be buckwheat pancakes but I couldn’t find buckwheat flour in either Tesco nor Waitrose, so had to settle instead for wholewheat rye flour.  They were lovely, though I found the recipe itself rather sketchy.  For example these monsters were 2 Tbsp’s each, in future I would do these 1 Tbsp each and have them slightly smaller.  Also there was no direction regarding what kind of heat to use for the pan, I went for medium heat around 3 or 4 on my electric hob which goes up to 6.

Ingredients

  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 225g full-fat milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 175g rye flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp soft butter or coconut oil – I used coconut oil

 

  1. Turn the oven on low, I think I went for 100 – 120 degrees (the same meringues)
  2. In a jug add the lemon juice to the milk and stand for 5 minutes and you’ve made sour milk which will give your pancakes a little rise / lift
  3. Add the egg and vanilla extract to the milk and whisk gently to break up the egg and combine
  4. Now to the dry ingredients; in a bowl combine all dry ingredients with a metal spoon.  Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet.  Mix to combine
  5. Melt the coconut oil in a non stick pan
  6. Add 3 Tbsp’s mixture to the pan separately, so they create three individual pancakes
  7. When the batter starts to set and slightly brown around the edges your pancakes are ready to turn
  8. When they are cooked, place on a baking tray in the oven and keep warm as you do the rest
  9. Serve with creme fraiche and blueberries as I did or perhaps maple syrup and bacon?
Leave a Reply

