Broccoli and coconut soup

So I was making a roast dinner this afternoon and had the broccoli storks left over, I remember I chef (whom I cannot recall) saying that you shouldn’t throw them away you should make soup out of them, so I thought, why not give it a whirl?

Now, I did first want to do a fabulous recipe with coconut milk but then saw that I’d need a whole head of broccoli for that, so decided to make it up as I went along but use that recipe as inspiration. This is what I came up with and it was actually lovely !

Ingredients

Half red onion

Half leek

2 cloves of garlic

Broccoli storks from one head of broccoli

Pinch of dried red chilli

3 pinches of desiccated coconut

1 Oxo chicken stock cube

Water drained from cooking the potatoes, beans and broccoli, around 250ml

 

Method

  1. Put the sauce pan on the hob, on a medium heat (4 out of 6 on my hob)
  2. Scoop out 1.5 tsp of coconut oil into the pan and allow it to melt
  3. Slice the onion and leek
  4. Peel 2 cloves of garlic
  5. Add the onion, leek and garlic to the pan and stir
  6. Add the chilli and desiccated coconut for 1 minute
  7. Add the water and stock cube and stir to combine
  8. Leave to simmer for 3-5 minutes
  9. If you’d like to thicken it, add some corn flour, coconut milk or double cream if you have to hand (I didn’t)
  10. When fully combined, take off the heat and blend into a smooth soup either with a handheld blender (which I would have used if I could find it!) or a side-top smoothie blender
  11. I divided between two pots for the freezer, allowing some room in the top for it to expand when frozen
Leave a Reply

